IndyCar News

Record-Breaking Attendance For The Firestone Grand Prix Of St Petersburg

The 2022 NTT IndyCar Series 2022 season-opening Firestone Grand Prix presented by RP Funding saw a record attendance of 140,000 spectators who watched as Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin scored his first IndyCar career victory.

McLaughlin started the race from pole position in the No.3 DEX Chevrolet and retook the lead late in the race and managed to keep defending series champion Alex Palou of Chip Ganassi Racing at bay to score his first IndyCar victory in only his 18th career start.

Fans were treated to glorious weather in St Petersburg and watched an incredible race throughout the field and watched on as Takuma Sato who celebrated his 200th IndyCar start, coming from the back of the field in 22nd place to finish the race inside tenth place.

AJ Foyt Racing’s rookie drivers Kyle Kirkwood and and Tatiana Calderon did exactly what the team asked of them and came got to the end of the 100 lap race.

IndyCar News

It’s Race Day At St Pete

It’s finally here, Race Day at the Firestone Grand Prix presented by RP Funding.

Team Penske locked out the front row with Scott McLaughlin taking his first NTT P1 Award while his is joined on the front row by his team-mate Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet.

Drivers to watch will be the likes of Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet who is arguably out of position given his race pace,

Scott Dixon will also be one to watch as he starts the race from seventh place.

Colton Herta who is starting the race from third place will be a driver to watch as he has been extremely quick all weekend while Romain Grosjean is starting from fifth place so he will equally be a driver to watch.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Helio Castroneves starts the race from sixth place in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay will also be a driver to watch out for as he had an extremely strong qualifying and rolls off from fourth place on the grid.

IndyCar News

Welcome To Day Two At St Pete

The NTT IndyCar Series is ready for day 2 of the Firestone Grand Prix presented by RP Funding, the season-opening event of 2022. Honda-powered Andretti Autosport looks incredibly strong following the opening day of action.

Meyer Shank Racing had a great opening session with Simon Pagenaud who ended the day in fourth place with a time of 01:01.3249s just ahead of Graham Rahal of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

There were only three Chevrolet-powered cars in the top ten on Friday with Will Power in third place in his Verizon 5G Chevrolet while Scott McLaughlin was eighth.

Rinus VeeKay was 9th in the No.21 Sonax Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing.

IndyCar News

IndyCar Introduce Real-Time Automated Highlights With WSC Sports

The NTT IndyCar Series announced on Wednesday that they have entered into a multi-year agreement with WSC Sports who will provide fans with real-time automated highlights via team and IndyCar social media channels starting with this weekend’s season-opening Firestone Grand Prix presented by RP Funding.

Joe DaCosta, North America business development, WSC Sports said:

It’s a thrill for us to be able to capture the excitement of INDYCAR racing and be able to share all the action with fans in real-time. “Motorsports are a new focus for us in the U.S., and we are excited to be able to partner with a first-class organization like INDYCAR

 SJ Luedtke, INDYCAR vice president of marketing commented saying:

“The fierce physical challenges and unrelenting pressure of driving in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES will now be conveyed to millions of digital consumers in real time thanks to this partnership with WSC Sports,. “In partnership with NTT, we’re in the midst of an aggressive and dynamic transformation that will extend the reach of our sport and convey our bold and unique narrative in increasingly relevant ways.”

IndyCar Motorsport News

It’s St Pete Race Week

The 2022 NTT IndyCar Series season gets underway this weekend with the Firestone Grand Prix presented by RP Funding.

After what appears to have been months and months, the green flag drops on Sunday for the opening race of the season.

A lot has happened over the off-season with Romain Grosjean replacing Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda at Andretti Autosport.

Jimmie Johnson has stepped up to a full-time drive with Chip Ganassi Racing in the No.48 Carvana American Legion Honda.

Team Penske has reduced to a three car programme following the departure of Simon Pagenaud.

Meyer Shank Racing has brought in a second full-time car with two new drivers as Simon Pagenaud and Helio Castroneves join the team.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing has three full-time drivers with Graham Rahal, Christian Lundgaard and Jack Harvey.

IndyCar Motorsport News

Lungaard’s No.30 Shield Cleansers Honda Ready For St Pete

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing has revealed the No.30 Shield Cleansers Honda that Christian Lundgaard will race with at next weekend’s 2022 NTT IndyCar Series season-opening Firestone Grand Prix presented by RP Funding.

IndyCar News Sport

Introducing The Firestone Grand Prix By RP Funding

The Firestone Grand Prix presented by RP Funding is the new name for the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg.

The Firestone Grand Prix presented by RP Funding takes place in exactly two weeks time.

For this year’s race, there is an incredible 26 car grid which is the most the NTT IndyCar Series has had in recent memory.

Team Penske has three cars with Josef Newgarden, Scott McLaughlin and Will Power. 3

Meyer Shank Racing have two cars with Simon Pagenaud and Helio Castroneves. 2

Chip Ganassi Racing has four cars with Jimmie Johnson driving the No.48 Carvana American Legion Honda full-time alongside defending champion Alex Palou, six-time champion Scott Dixon and Marcus Ericsson. 4

Andretti Autosport has four cars with Colton Herta, Alexander Rossi, Romain Grosjean and Delvin DeFrancesco. 4

Ed Carpenter Racing has Rinus VeeKay and Conor Daly. 2

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing has Graham Rahal, Christian Lundgaard and Jack Harvey. 3

Arrow McLaren SP has two drivers with Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist. 2

AJ Foyt Racing has three drivers with Dalton Kellett, Tatiana Calderon and Kyle Kirkword. 3

Dale Coyne Racing has two drivers with Takuma Sato and David Malukas. 2

Juncos Hollinger Racing has Callum Ilott. 1

The Firestone GP presented by RP Funding takes place from February 25-27.

For further information visit the Firestone Grand Prix presented by RP Funding website.